deja vu

No work to do today, so homework it must be.

Opening a new word document and typing “discussion questions.”

Coworker on speakerphone walking a client through updating a job posting on our site.

Haven’t I done this before?

My mind swirls in wonder, insisting I have already experienced this moment.

I lift my hands and clutch my forehead.

A dangling thread waves near my eye from the elbow of my brand new shirt.

Yes, this has happened before.

Exactly this.

But what does it mean? It could be a simple misfiring of the brain; the current explanation for deja vu. To me, it means I am on the track I am meant to be on, good or bad. Either way, I am reeling.

Thoughts?

